29 comments on “Dark poetry: Alone

  1. I’ve been intimate with those types of feelings and it’s always slower coming away than it is going to, but I do pull away, and I think so will you. You’re very strong, and there are all those who care. Hang in there, and I’ll read you later.

  2. Yesterday my nephew told me he was sad and didn’t want to leave. We had a wonderful time together playing and enjoying Christmas and he said I’m trying not to cry and I said go ahead and cry it’s ok to cry. I say the same about feeling alone. Sometimes there is nothing you can do but be alone because you feel alone even in a crowded room that feeling of alone is so huge. I spent years trying to avoid my true feelings and emotions so Patty I think the way you face it all head on and share is beautiful and encouraging! I hope one day that this feeling of alone will heal or go away, but if it doesn’t that is ok to. Not favorable but ok. huge hugs to you Patty. I love your photo! So beautiful you are! ❤ and hugs to you!

    • Thank you so much my sweet friend.
      Yes, it’s okay to cry, feel alone or dark every once in a while. As long as it doesn’t control your life, it’s okay.
      I hope that I will heal completely one day as well, but I am sure doing much better than a couple years back so I am grateful! 🙂
      Lots of love and hugz ❤

      • Me too! I agree it’s all baby steps for some reason. Nothing ever happens all of a sudden. I’m always grateful just like you are! 😀 BIG BIG hugs! and ❤ to you!

  3. We all feel this way at times. It is a dark and dangerous place. Just know that even when you feel most alone inside, there are many that surround you to keep you from EVER truly being alone my friend.

    • Thank you Phil.
      It’s okay my friend, don’t worry about me. Even if I speak my mind through my poems in the ‘now’, know that I will always get out.
      Those dark wings of mine are strong enough!
      Love & Hugz ❤

  4. This poem speaks of anguish, a heart torn apart possibly by many things, lost love, abuse by family or friends. I often as a boy lived alone in my room, contemplating such things. A demon lived in our home and verbally and physically abused the household. My dear mother took the brunt of abuse, I grew stronger both mentally and physically and became the protector of my dear mother. In the end the abuse met his destiny in a prison cell with his own tee shirt wrapped around his dying filthy neck. So Patty this dark side enters our souls now and then, and it’s through poetry such as you have penned here that helps us release our demons. However alone we may feel, the beauty of it, is it gives us reflection into our spirit. I trust and hope that you don’t live daily ALONE, I don’t think so, I see much love in your heart and it too radiates in your work. Hugs

    • Thank you Vincent.
      Wow, that must have been a very hard time for your family!
      I am glad that you were strong enough to defend you mother. Thank you for sharing this with me.
      Unfortunately, I am no stranger to abuse myself. I have been abused and beaten up in high school for 4 years.
      I wrote about it in this post: https://petitemagique.wordpress.com/2014/10/01/bullying-my-story-warning-contains-triggers/
      It’s one of the reasons for my PTSD, but not the main reason. Like you may have read in my About, I started writing when I was 14 because my big brother was murdered.
      This loss and the other losses in the following years is the main trigger for my PTSD and my dark poems. Besides that, I have to fight against 3 chronic conditions next to the PTSD on a daily basis.
      Luckily, I am very blessed with the people surrounding me. I have a great family, a very sweet husband and some amazing friends. They keep me on my feet most of the time lol.
      But sometimes, the darkness inside wants to get out. What better way there is then to write it off and maybe connect with mind like people?
      Lots of Love,
      Patty

Leave a Reply

