62 comments on “Bad review…

  1. lieffie, we hebben een heel goed spreekwoord in het Nederlands voor dit: Er is nog nooit een kok gevonden, die koken kon naar allemonden. Er zullen altijd mensen zijn die het “niks” vinden. bedenk gewoon bij jezelf dat dit mensen zijn die waarschijnlijk niet verder komen dan een 3 stuiver roman of een bouquetreeks boekkie 😀

    Did that in Dutch for the used proverb, for the English readers, we have a proverb in Dutch that translates to: “there has never been a cook that could cook for all mouths” . I guess it says in English ebough to be understood it just doesn’t sound that swell as in Dutch

    You rock girl

  2. I don’t have an issue getting or giving a review that isn’t glowing as long it’s honest and constructive. Sometimes people are trying to make a name for themselves or gain attention by doing the opposite of others in their field.
    Keep in mind that different people have different opinions, and every person has their own bias and their own life filter.
    I’ve read your work on this blog and think it’s amazing and unique. I don’t know what a sticky sandwich means, but I would have gone with a damaged chrysalis can still open and give the world a beautiful butterfly who gives us hope.
    I think you have a unique style that shows all that you have struggled and fought through, maybe it was way too deep for her.
    Great response. You keep doing what you’re doing, it’s inspiring. 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your beautiful words Donna!
      I will certainly keep writing, just have to learn not let bad reviews get to me.
      Love & Hugz ❤

  3. My mom once told me when it comes to opinions, if I couldn’t say something good about it, say nothing at all. I began understanding that as girls in school asked about their newest hairstyles. When they were criticized, they walked around the rest of the day self-conscious and hurt. Since your negative critic is also a writer, my guess is there is jealousy involved.

    Keep on keeping on. Let the good outweigh the bad,

    • Thank you my friend.
      Yea, I know. And I also know that it shouldn’t bother me because it’s just 1 review, but still…
      Can’t stand people like that!
      Love & Hugz ❤

  4. Reblogged this on It Is What It Is and commented:
    Excellent response …. Patty!! Very mature and to the point. By what you write, one can only see the reviewer’s desire to bring you down without reason!! Hang in there ….. you da bomb!! ❤ …..

  5. I feel sorry for you to receive this Patty. You are writing very good and don’t let anyone take you down, just because they have a bad day. You are much to good for that 😀

    This was not constructive critic, if so you could learn.

    • Thank you Irene! 🙂
      I feel much better now, just had to get it out of my system lol.
      But I do worry, you know. These people have the ability to tear a writer apart and I don’t like that one bit!
      Hugz & Love ❤

  6. Hey girl, also remember that many artists, including writers, are narcissistic in some ways. Not all artists, some are very humble like van Gogh, but some think they write or paint better than anyone else. We will see what happens when she finally publishes, and she gets her first bad review. She may not take it as professional and well as you have. It may really throw her into fits of depression or anger.
    You are right in assessing any comments should be made to help the writer learn, or at least help their esteem. If there is nothing one can say to do either, than there is no reason to say anything. Her comment was just snarky, sort of like a New York theatre review. Go on and fly high, you are doing great.
    I have yet to read your book since I haven’t been able to afford it, but it is on my wish list, and noting all other works of yours, I am sure it will be worth the wait. Have fun this coming week with your signing party.

    Peace & Love

    • Thank you my dear friend! 🙂
      I am blessed to have so many great people like you in my life.
      Just had to get it out of my system. 🙂
      Love & Hugz ❤

  7. That’s a good quote… Hope this finds you more at peace than after last week…

  8. So sorry you came across a heartless reviewer. Just because your book didn’t appeal to this particular reviewers doesn’t mean everyone buys into it. When reviewing, he/she should have been kinder. Not every book appeals to every reader, but under no circumstances should the reviewer trashed your book or made personal insults. For every negative review there are more positive reviews. Some people are just hateful.
    I recently read a book that was sent to me by the author, an English professor, who thought we had similar interests. After reading the book I knew I could not give it a positive review. There was nothing I liked, but a lot of men had given it high fives. I simply wrote the author a note telling him the book was not my cup of tea, and therefore I would not leave a review. I thanked him for thinking of me and sending me his book, wished him good luck, and in the end, no feelings were hurt. In fact, he sent me a note thanking me for not publishing a negative review.
    Chin up, now. Enjoy all your positive reviews.
    Hugs :3

    • Thank you.
      That was a great response you gave to that writer. Kind and simple, as it should be.
      I don’t mind the critics, in fact I embrace it because it can only make me better. But people like this particular young lady, no. I can’t do anything with that. I just don’t understand people who are cruel. But luckily I am blessed with friends who support me and give me great comments like you. That is something I can learn something from! 🙂
      Lots of love ❤

  9. Keep doing what you are doing. I can accept constructive criticism, I sense a little jealousy in her review. You’ve been getting good reviews overall, don’t let one bad apple spoil your appetite.
    Peace and Love<3

      • I thought that this might be the reason! 🙂
        But my poetry book is going strong, no bad reviews yet. As for my Dutch Fantasy book… 1 bad and 19 good ones. But the bad one was a official one and from those I have about 5 good ones and a medium one.
        I should not complain, I know…
        Hugz ❤

  10. I was on a writing site for eighteen months, Patty, I hated it! But it did teach me one thing and that was to ignore everything people say unless it’s right.
    What that person said is wrong, so ignore it.

  11. Reading one’s reviews doesn’t sound healthy, and that includes the glowing ones!
    Personally, I find it quite enough to get through the heavy criticism, er, ah, I mean wonderful improvements that editors provide. To then subject myself to the opinions of unschooled, unedited, or unpublished others just seems too much. I don’t spend a lot of time looking back.

    • Very true. But when your book gets out in the media, you have to know what people say about it.
      If you want to write, just write and no one can touch you. But if you put yourself out there, you will have no choice than to work with the media.
      Although I do value the opinions of my loved ones and editors (who can be quite critic as well lol) way more than a review written by someone who apparently had a bad day.
      Lots of love ❤

      • I wonder about that. Do most celebrities acknowledge the barbs of critical reviewers, even when being interviewed by other media? Or, do they stick to their main messages and carry on?
        Oh, this doesn’t discount the sting of disapproval. I’m curious what the best approaches are to handling these kind of reviews.
        Vincent

      • To be honest, I wonder about that myself.
        Luckily, I am not a celebrity! 😉
        But I do want to become successful as a writer.
        I know that I will stand behind my writing at all times. It’s a piece of me, it’s who I am.
        If people don’t like it, don’t read it! But what worries me is that these individuals who call themselves ‘reviewers’ can easily make someone doubting themselves. I don’t like people like that. In my opinion, a straight forward honest opinion with constructive feedback would do way more good.
        Thank you for reading and commenting Vincent, I appreciate it very much!
        Lots of love

  12. Patty, You have your head on straight as always about these two bad reviews, one in particular. I don’t read a lot of reviews but know about the world of reviewers on Broadway & movies. The good reviews seem to come from positive reviewers. The negative reviews seem to come from people trying to make a name for themselves & their negative comments are wrapped up in their own psyche & personality. They usually self destruct. Good reviewers criticize constructively even if they may not like a piece of work. Phil

    • Very true Phil. Constructive feedback is valuable, since one can learn from it and only gets better. But things like this…No. They are just meant to give someone a bad feeling about themselves and, as you know, I can’t stand those people!
      But I will leave it behind and concentrate on the important stuff! 🙂
      Hugz & Love ❤

  13. Apparently, the reader didn’t spend any time drinking in your words. anyone who stops by your blog to read ANY of your writing will know your style is unique and lovely. There are always those who enjoy giving a bad review. Don’t take it to heart (easy for me to say, I know), but I wouldn’t worry. Your good reviews far outweigh this ONE star.

    • Thank you Morgan!
      Yes, I know I should focus on the good ones. And I will, it just caught me by surprise and made me wonder what would go through the mind of a person like this you know?
      Love & Hugz ❤

  14. oh wow that’s a harsh thing to say, If you ask me the person who left that review is the one that’s shallow, so uncalled for. Sorry you had to read something like that 😦

    • Thank you Andy.
      It’s alright, it kind of caught me of guard though!
      I don’t understand people who want to bring others down. And I sure as hell won’t value their opinion!
      But it does hurt, especially when your lead character is based on your own character and things you have been through in life.
      O well, I guess haters will keep hating.
      Hugz & Love ❤

Leave a Reply

