42 comments on “Poetry for today: Friends…

  1. dear Patty,
    I have been wanting to write to you for forever! This piece on FRIENDS is beautiful and so true! But I do want you to know that I am a “forever friend”…even in my silence…I just take little breaks away from blogging…I fight depression too…and at the present, I am living in a very difficult situation…so, it is pain upon pain……..but then YOU come along with your words and it helps me to forget myself and BE PRESENT to YOU and to others! THANK YOU! I also want to THANK YOU for being ONE of the top 5 commentators on my writing during the year of 2013! YOU ARE SO AWESOME! Thank you for all of your encouragement! How is your novel selling? I am waiting for the English version!

    • My dear friend,
      I really missed you around here!
      I am so sorry that times are rough for you. You have my email and you are always welcome to email me if you need someone to talk to!
      Just know that I am a forever friend as well.
      And I want to thank you for coming into my life too! 2013 really was a crazy year and I hope 2014 will be better for us all!
      My novel is going to be published in April, so I am really exited! 🙂
      I am going to publish a poetry book soon.
      Lots of love and healing crystals to you my dear friend! ❤

  2. I have begun to not expect friendships to last. I think we are imperfect people with varying levels of skill (and all relationships take skills from both parties to make them successful IMO). But I think we can take them and enjoy them in the moment it is good, have that be the blessing.

    Not everyone is meant to be the best friend, or close friend or even the enduring one though.

    Interesting poem…

      • I’m glad one of us has what it takes to write like this. My brain seems to have taken a vacation. This poem is really good, in all respects. The thought behind it, the meaning, and the rhythm, I seriously loved. Keep up the great work you are doing here, Patty. Every time I come here, I am not disappointed. Love, Amy♥️

  3. Patty, SOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD! You did it! We agreed a while back that there are different definitions of friends. And I said that to me personal friends are a very special close knit group & then there are professional friends & finally acquaintances. But you have done so here in a different way by describing the actions/behavior of friendship!!! And, as always, you have done so beautifully with your words coming together just like the pieces of a puzzle, saying it all as a whole poem. And that ending about friends may come & go “But you always meet friends for a reason,” choked me up. And it’s a bright poem about friends, despite describing the ups & downs & even loss of friends! –Kind of a happy they came my way thing. Good, Good, Good! Phil

    • Thank you so much my friend! 🙂
      I am learning that, although I still find it hard to let go of someone, it’s sometimes better. But I also know that you always learn something from someone you met.
      Lots of love and hugz ♥

      • Patty, Yes, I found it very sophisticated & extremely tolerant of you to write that there are friends for life, for a season, they come & go, but always come our way for a reason!!! Such a realist, yet a philosopher you are far beyond your youthful years. Phil

      • Thank you my friend! 🙂
        I am learning. 😉
        And I guess the bumpy years count double, so that would actually make me….around 52! 😉
        Lots of love and hugz ♥

Leave a Reply

