21 comments on “Rambling and a Poetrics

  1. This embodies so much Patty and I can relate to all of it. Thank you for posting it. I am exactly the same, in fact, I think many are. If you were to ask me, I would give exactly the same answer, I am fine, yet in reality, I may be far from it. But I am always there to support others and tell them that they will be fine and to keep strong. I am so sorry to hear about your shoulder and your pain, I really feel for you and I hope that you will be okay again soon. But you are so right in what you say – it is perfectly okay to hold your hands up and say, do you know what? today I am not good. And that, as far as I am concerned, takes so much more bravery than pretending that you are fine.

    Hats off to you Patty and I think the response to this post has told you all that you need to know. Be yourself, be honest and it is totally and utterly okay to hold your hands up and scream. We should all take a leaf out of your book. Lovely poetry.

  2. Bravery it takes to write this. To go against the grain of your thinking and write down things you don’t really want to, takes guts, you know I know this. I love you so much as a friend and I am here for you and Danny and Lia and Sheryl and everyone else you have introduced me to.

    I am glad you have said this because sometimes we have to say “I am not fucking ok” I say it often. It helps. It doesn’t take the pain away but when I do this, what you have done I feel relived I have told people. What EVERYONE WHO HAS NO PAIN don’t realize is we don’t want to take our pain to loved ones in our home. I know in my home the suffer enough without me annoying them every time I am in pain.

    So write your woes away Patty..
    You have a HUGE following of people behind you and I am in that following..

    Well done you..
    I am sorry you understand this amount of pain and suffering.
    We can’t lie pain, it is there for us all to read. And I hate to see people I love in pain..Same as you..
    You are ALWAYS there for me. I am maybe not always there for you because my pain keeps me in bed for 2 days or I need to and want to spend time with the family.
    Other than that I am here for you, 24/7 in unconditional love..

    And that includes your family x

    Shaun ❤ x

  3. this is one of my favorite songs. it pretty much sums up everything. i am really sorry to hear about your shoulder. i wish i could give you a magic cure or a recommendation of something, but i am afraid i am at a loss. If it helps at all, please know that i think about you. xxxxxxx

  4. Excellent post Patty, it is true, saying we are fine is what most of us do regardless of how we really are. I think that we do it just because we assume that other people really don’t care, of course I would like to believe that that isn’t true. Feel better my friend. 🙂

  5. My candid response when actually feeling really down, “oh…okay…” – it always works for me. ❤

  6. Patty, Your Rambling & Poetrics, “Everybody Hurts…Hold On!” You have a right to complain, my goodness! And you complain very well & then express it even better poetically to R.E.M. ‘s song & lyrics!!! But as usual here is “Phil’s advice column: You said you tell others, ” ‘It’s okay. Life just sucks sometimes. You can cry about it. Stay strong, I am here.’ But for some stupid reason I am unable to tell that to myself. ” And your words contain some help for yourself that helps/woks some….You pretend that you are talking to someone with your exact ailment (s)….You ask yourself what you would tell them….And then, guess what, you tell yourself those words!!! Try it! It DOES help/work some. I know!!! “Better” to Patty!!!! Phil

Leave a Reply

